Saturday, April 20, 2013

OBLIVION (2013)


I’m a big sci fi nut. I practically drool at the prospect of a sci fi movie. Hell, I even watch “Men in Black 3”!

Disregarding all the hype surrounding Tom Cruise’s private life, I like his movies. It’s not so much that he’s actually acting because when you see a Tom Cruise movie, you expect certain things. New high tech gadgets, cool clothes, fast vehicles and often very pretty girls. He’s a brand of movie.

Let me preface that I went with four girls, my nieces ages 7, 10, 13 and 15 years old. It was a long 2 hour movie, but it was in one of the newer theaters where all the seats are like barco loungers. I figured, if the younger ones get bored, they’ll nap. 

About half way into the movie, the 7 year old was sliding under her chair, running to me, then back to her seat. The 10 year old was curled up in a fetal position, sleeping on her side. The older girls were at least awake, but then there was popcorn, nachos and pizza. The 15 year old, in her nihilistic phase, was interested in a post-apocalyptic movie and insisted the 13 year old come too.

The first 90 minutes, oddly enough, were boring. It’s about two people who are the last two caretakers of a desolated Earth. Their house was very cool and beautiful. I like the idea of having a house that floats above the clouds, has its own helipad and a very cool glass swimming pool that hangs in the sky. But it was also very antiseptic. The walls were glass, trimmed in chrome and gleaming steel. But no knick-knacks, no soft cushions and drapes.

It brooded; there were moments of no dialogue and only long panoramic views. Close ups of the actors exchanging knowing looks, although Tom Cruise isn't exactly known for acting subtlety.

The theater was about 80% full, really good for a show at 10:30am on a Saturday. But when the movie ended, the audience seemed confused, uncertain if they liked it or not. My oldest niece was confused and I had to explain it to her.

It had no soul.

And that’s how I felt about the movie, it had no soul. It tried, it really did, but it was too little too late. I’m glad I saw the movie on the big screen. I don’t watch movies for the artistry nor for the ability to converse on an intellectual level about the production values, plot lines and twists. It’s a story that is meant to transport me to another world that I would never otherwise ever get the chance to visit. Based on that goal, Oblivion achieved it.

Sadly, the best action shots are all on the trailer. Some parts of the trailer didn’t even make it into the movie. 

Monday, March 28, 2011

Scream of the Banshee - My Favorite Horror Movie



It was fun little movie that probably should have had more of a budget. But I've seen a low budget movie made and I saw the finished product, that was another movie and the low budget showed on that one. But this movie was made in 2wks and frankly, it wasn't as bad as I thought it was. Cult classic status is awarded to something that for whatever reason, people like. Regardless of production quality, F/X, whatever. The acting was earnest, a bit cringe worthy a few times. But instead of frightening nightmare inducing images, I had more of a laugh track in my head. But then again, sometimes that's why you watch horror movies, to laugh!

I will probably watch this silly thing over and over, I caught one inside joke, I wonder if having a laptop with Greek lettering was another one?

It aired on SyFy channel on March 26th, it's slated for a theatrical release. Would I watch it on the big screen? Hell yeah! So I can howl in laughter with a theater full of random strangers, what more could I ask for?

Enjoy the clip, by the way, she's calling for her research assistant Otto, not her dog. But I know a guy who's got this big friendly German shepherd, his name was Otto, that's why I think this scene was funny because in my head, "she's calling for the dog!".

Friday, October 1, 2010

CHASING 3000 - 2010

Heartwarming and inspired by a true story, “Chasing 3000” is set against the backdrop of Roberto Clemente’s historic 1972 chase to get his 3000th hit. Mickey(Trevor Morgan), 16, a lifelong Pirates fan, resents his family’s recent move to California, made to accommodate his brother Roger(Rory Caulkin), who suffers from muscular dystrophy. Unhappy with is new surroundings, Mickey steals his mom’s car and plans to race across the country to see Clemente’s historic moment. His only problem: Roger wants to come along. The brothers set off and begin reconnecting as various obstacles push them closer. However, when the trip begins to take its toll on Roger’s health, Mickey is forced to re-evaluate his priorities.  – synopsis from the DVD

The movie opens with Ray Liotta taking his kids to Roberto Clemente Day in Pittsburgh.  He recounts the story of his cross country trek with his younger brother to watch the magical moment when Clemente hits his 3000th hit.

Mickey struggles with the issue of being ripped away from his beloved ‘burgh and focuses his teenage anger directly at his mother, Marilyn(Lauren Holly). But the story is more than just the story of these boys, their journey or the random strangers who helped them along. This is a story of baseball and the love and loyalty that it engenders. From the way every baseball movie always puts a pitcher in slow motion, it leads you to think that the is the embodiment of life. For life isn’t just about that home run hit, it is made up of the small things that lead to that home run. The last out, the perfect pitch, the perfect hit, it is the stepping up to the plate and going for the fences every time rather than never going up to bat at all.

Trevor Morgan and Rory Caulkin have a nice chemistry; brotherly love is never drawn out into some treacly maudlin moments.

I’m not a big fan of Ray Liotta, I think he’s a good actor; it’s just that he does such a good job of playing such creepy characters that I just don’t like watching him. But in this movie, he was actually likeable. He plays a real guy, a dad telling his kids his story.

In the past several years, Lauren Holly has been seen in ‘sexy and dangerous’ roles, she’s glamorous, she’s tough and which sometimes can be characterized as a bitch. But here, she plays a single mom in the 70s, frightened and concern etching her face.  She’s vulnerable and fragile, in those 70s polyester clothes, she looks like a mom. Judging by the shortness of her hair, I’m assuming she filmed this while she was still in NCIS, as Dir. Jenny Shepard. How interesting then to see that on constant re-runs juxtaposed against Marilyn Straka.

The main cast is rounded out with Seymour Cassel(Heist)as Popi, the boys’ grandfather, who interestingly enough starts the movie in a thick old world accent that seems to disappear by the end of the movie.
The rest of the cast is filled out with some interesting cameos by the likes of Jay Karnes(The Shield), Ricardo Chavira(Desperate Housewives), Keith David (Mr & Mrs Smith), Lori Petty (A League of Their Own),  Michael O’Keefe (L&O: SVU) and Tania Raymonde(Lost). It was really good to see M. Emmet Walsh in sweet little cameo as the old guy who helps the boys get on with their journey.

I’m not a huge drama fan, I like things to explode and aliens invade, but I watched this movie, there were a few slow moments, but I think you needed it to explain the deepening relationship between the boys. I would have liked to have seen a “Making of…” Special Features, the DVD has no special features apart from some previews of more independent movies.

When I was a kid, I used to live by Roberto Clemente High School in the west side of Chicago, now I know a bit more of why he’s a hero. In an age of stratospheric athletic salaries, this movie tells that it wasn’t just the stats of this particular ball player that evoked such admiration. It was the way a man was supposed to be, understanding, caring and taking the time to reach out to the fans and the fans reached back and took him straight to their hearts.

If you’re a baseball fan, you need to see this movie. If you are a Pirates fan, this movie is a MUST. If you’re looking for a nice movie with the family, especially if the kids like baseball, this is a very good film for all ages.

I enjoyed this movie. 

Saturday, August 28, 2010

“The Least Among You” – Based on a true story.

Synopsis:
Arrested in the 1965 Watts riots, Richard Kelly (Cedric Sanders) must serve probation at an all-white seminary. Although encouraged to break racial boundaries by its president Alan Beckett (William Devane), the school wants black followers, not leaders. Even former missionary Kate Allison (Lauren Holly) initially rejects Richard. With a prison sentence looming, Richard meets Samuel Benton (Louis Gossett, Jr.) – “the gardener in the basement.” As Samuel guides him through is many trials, Richard must choose between his dreams and his destiny.
              http://theleastamongyou.com/

The problem with dramas and especially ‘based on true story” films, I usually hold them to a greater standard.  With the powerhouse actors of William Devane, Lauren Holly and Louis Gossett, Jr, I was willing to take a chance on an indie film, by a first time director who wrote the script.

Cedric Sanders does a credible job in the lead role of Richard Kelly. I hope he gets more exposure and we see more of him.

Acting, like bullshit and pornography is hard for me to define; I just know it when I see it.

John de Lancie once said that if you want to really see the acting an actor is doing, turn off the volume, for it’s in the ticks, the eye lifts, the head tilts, all the little things that an actor does that defines their ability. I did that in a scene with Lauren Holly, William Devane and Cedric Sanders.

William Devane throws in a head tilt, holding it to match Lauren Holly’s as they talk to each other, he throws in a shrug and a tilt of his eye brows. Cedric Sanders little ticks just doesn’t have that natural casualness that only comes with practice. In comparison to the veteran actors, he’s definitely the ingĂ©nue.

When I turned off the volume and watched the scene, I realized that what I really appreciate about Lauren’s performances is her eyes.  She holds the other actor’s gaze and when she delivers a line, she means it. She’s got the eyebrow rise down to an art and her head tilts are exquisitely timed. Lauren plays this character perfectly.

Then last but not least, I’ve missed seeing Louis Gossett, Jr onscreen. You forget the drill sergeant, instead you see this man, facing the later years his life with an acceptance and grace I hope to someday have. 

I liked the performances, but the movie was a bit slow, if I didn’t know any better, I would have thought this movie was a film adaptation of a play. One issue I had was the script; did they really talk like that back in the 60s? Even in the ‘ghetto’ scene, no one ever swore? I swear sometimes I thought they had recorded over the offending word much like they do when a theatrical release is shown on TV. We know he just said ‘bullshit’ not ‘bullcrap’. If you don’t get the dialogue right, you lose a bit of verisimilitude.

One last thing, there is a scene late in the movie where Richard discovers Kate smoking up on the roof. They are talking about faith. Kate tells Richard that the last time she heard ‘the voice’ (referring to the voice of God) was when she was staring at three coffins.

Richard: “What did the voice say?”
Kate: “I loved them too.”

My heart broke when Kate’s face broke under the onslaught of her memories and grief. When Lauren Holly cries, it brought tears to my eyes, she was dead on with her crying; unafraid to make the faces that come when we break down and devolve into primal sobbing. I'm glad to finally see a role that allows her to show off her acting chops. It was still too small a role though.

My take, if you like ‘based on true story’ drama, you’ll like this movie.


Saturday, July 31, 2010

"Toy Story 3"

I’ve watched Toy Story, Toy Story 2 and now I’ve watched Toy Story 3. The Pixar people are absolute geniuses. When I saw Toy Story I thought it was superbly written; when Toy Story 2 came out, I thought they couldn’t have written a better sequel. So when they came out with Toy Story 3, I didn’t read any reviews because I wanted to see it for myself and enjoy.

The cartoon short before the feature was “Night and Day” I can’t describe it except that it gave me the giggles.  I took my 4yr old niece with me, so we had to watch it in 3-D. But when the movie started, I really didn’t notice the difference.

The story was original, except for one small flaw, Lotso the Bear was just a re-treaded Stinky Pete, but his “story” was no less poignant.  Was I the only one who cried in Toy Story 2 when Jesse’s story was told with Sarah McLachlan singing “When She Loved Me”? At the time, I thought it was just gut wrenching. I had a tear drop down in this movie too; it was just so achingly ‘real’. Call me a sentimentalist, but we all recall the instant when we left behind our childish ways and became an adult. Once we cross that line, we can’t go back. 

I really liked the addition of the Ken doll in this movie, he was the comic relief.

My niece never moved from her seat, she never fiddled with her 3D glasses and every now and then I’d see her mouth hanging open in abject awe.

This is a must see movie.

"Inception"

The writing was superb, the acting was subtle and the pace was uncompromising. It takes on the question "Are we dreaming the dream or is the dream dreaming us?" The script is smart without being condescending.

DiCaprio leads a cast of Ellen Page, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Marion Cotillard, with Michael Caine in a small role, just to name a few. Christopher Nolan's direction is another great job done.

Having been a fan of "3rd Rock From the Sun", I am really glad that Joseph Gordon-Levitt is maturing into a really good actor.

I won't give out spoilers but one thing I can tell you is that the "kick" (the method to wake you from dreaming) is the playing of Edith Piaf's "Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien", which was Marion Cotillard's award winning role. I wonder if it was some kind of inside joke?

I would have liked to have seen it with someone else so we could have discussed it afterwards. But sometimes I've been in movies where the writing is so convoluted, that I needed to lean over to ask someone what I was supposed to be seeing. But this movie had me completely enraptured.

I sat still for the entire movie, something uncommon. I even forgot to eat my popcorn!

In short, see the movie.

"Salt"

I still remember when I saw “Aliens” and saw Ellen Ripley kick alien ass. That was the iconic role that created a whole new genre, female action star. Since then, we’ve seen a slew of action heroines on the big screen and on the small screen. We can point to Jennifer Garner on “Alias”, Uma Thurman in the “Kill Bill” movies, there is Mila Jovovich in the Resident Evil movies.  But for me, the biggest female action star is Angelina Jolie, she started with the Lara Croft movies, then “Mr & Mrs. Smith”, “Wanted” and now “Salt”.

 There is no doubt the woman can act, from the unbelievably expressive eyes to the funny way she stands with her hands at the ready for a fight. She looks like that spunky little tomboy who ignores the fact that even though she’s up against a bigger, stronger guy and will probably get hurt, she’s still going in fighting. She won’t give up until she’s bloody and scarred, but she won’t let anyone take her without a fight.

Like every action movie, the star will persevere under extraordinary odds, s/he will leap tall buildings, battle armies and even when the odds are arraigned against them, they will find a way. It’s a movie, it is fiction and we suspend belief to enjoy the visceral joy of living vicariously through their battles.

I always come out of a movie theater driving a little too fast. I take a curb (or try to) on two wheels. It’s the adrenaline rush. As a kid I came out of “Conan the Barbarian” practicing how to hold my sword (broom handle), leaping across the living room, bouncing off the couch and diving under the dining room table.

I know Jolie is wired and harnessed as she does her scenes, some are obviously stunt doubles. The movie itself was fair. I think the only reason the movie works is because it’s Jolie. And she’s got some very good supporting actors, Live Schrieber  stars as Salt’s boss and Chiwetel Ejiofor is a counterintelligence agent who set out to catch Salt after she’s been accused of being a Russian mole.

In a blink-and-you’ll-miss-him role is Andre Braugher, wasted in a group scene. I don’t remember him even having a line.

The movie is predictable; I had a suspicion of how it would turn out very early on. I think Hollywood needs to rethink their concept of what a trailer should be. Before the feature film came on, there were trailers for other movies and I wondered just how much of the action sequences were given away? Some trailers are better than what the movie turns out to be.

You’ll get no spoilers from my review; I don’t read the ‘professional’ reviews,nor the hype machine until after I watch the movie. I came out of watching “Wanted” scared at how skinny Jolie looked. Her sunken eyes, thin, almost cadaverous frame, but then I learned that it was the first movie she made after her beloved mother’s death. So I took that into account. But in Salt, she looks frail.

There’s a scene early on when she’s running from the CIA agents, a backpack slung across her back, her hair tucked into a plain brown knit winter cap and I swear I was reminded of the little boy in the Japanese Gozilla movies. Her backpack bounced on her back just like the little kid. In fact, she looked like a little kid and looked like she was struggling to run fast. Her arms pumping hard, she looked awfully thin. Her clothes hang from her, look at her legs.

I want to invite her to a nice rich Italian dinner full of meat sauce and pasta, please get some meat on those bones!

I really liked “Mr. & Mrs. Smith” not because of the eye candy Brangelina, but because it had a sense of humor. Maybe if they give Angelina Jolie a script with action and just a hint of humor, she could truly be a premier action heroine. She’s got a beautiful smile, but most of her action roles has her frowning and glowering, she’s such a good actress that when she glowers like that, I’m afraid of ever meeting her.

If you get the chance to see the movie without paying $10, then go ahead. I paid more for my nachos & cheese and pop than I did for the movie. But I always felt that if you like an actor, the type of movie, then go spend the money.

To see this movie you have to suspend disbelief, sure, a body can go flinging off a movie vehicle and end up in another one without falling. Hey, she’s a trained spy operative! Will I buy the DVD? Probably, it IS Angelina Jolie. But if you’re not a fan of action movies, hate predictability, maybe you should skip this one.